Coconut Curried Zucchini with easy Dill Rice Pulao

I wanted something light, less spicy and a tiny bit sweet. So I decided to make a coconut based vegetable dish. I always have chopped up frozen zucchini at my disposal (I find zucchini gets spoilt rather quickly if not used within a short time so I chop it up and freeze it for later use) so it was my go to vegetable. I am sure you can try this recipe with other options that you may have at home.

 

Ingredients:

1-2 tbs of Oil

½ an onion – diced

1 tomato – diced

1 zucchini – chopped

1 tbs of shredded coconut

¼ cup of skim milk (You could probably use coconut milk but I did not have that at home so I just went with coconut + milk :), also I used skim milk you can use whole).

1 ½ cup of water

½ tsp ginger paste

½ tsp garlic paste

Spices:

½ tsp red chili powder (or as per taste)

¼ tsp of turmeric powder

¼ tsp coriander powder

¼ tsp cumin powder

1 tsp curry powder (any curry powder would work, I use Rani Curry Powder*)

Salt as per taste

Method:

Fry the chopped onions

When the onions turn slightly brown (not burnt) add the tomatoes and fry till the tomatoes start getting soft.

Add the ginger/garlic paste and fry till the raw smell disappears.

Add the chopped zucchini and mix well with the onions and tomatoes.

Add the remaining spices and mix well.

Add shredded coconut and mix.

Add the water and let it come to a boil.

Add milk to this after the water has boiled and let it come to a boil (at medium heat).

Cook till your desired consistency. I wanted to eat this with rice so I wanted it to be a wet curry.

Serve with rice.

* Rani’s Curry Powder: http://www.amazon.com/Rani-Curry-Powder-Hot-16Oz/dp/B00302N1DS

I made a quick Dill and Peas rice pulao to eat this with. Below is the recipe for the dill rice pulao.

Ingredients for Dill and Peas rice pulao:

1 ½ cup rice

3 cups of water

¼ cup of peas

1 tbs of dried dill

2 pods of white cardamom

Salt as per taste

Method:

Wash the rice well (3 times).

Remove all the washed water and refill the pot with the 3 cups of water.

Add the peas, dill, salt and cardamom to the rice/water mix.

Bring to a boil.

Lower the heat to medium and continue boiling the rice till the rice is all done.

Drain out excess water.

Cover and keep the rice pot on the lowest possible setting for heat for an additional 5-10 minutes.

Serve hot.

Enjoy 🙂

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment