Spicy Cilantro Barbecue flavored Shrimp with Rice Pilaf

20130827-163224.jpg

Moving to a new state and into a new apartment was fun but not being able to cook was definitely a bummer.
So since it was my first day back in the kitchen I decided to experiment a bit and add flavors that just popped. So here goes, my new kitchen creation:

Ingredients:
1-cup small shrimp
Handful of chopped Cilantro
½ a Red Onion chopped.
1 tsp Green Chili Chutney or paste (I used Swad – Green Chili Chutney)
1 tbs Worcestershire Sauce
1-1/4 tbs Barbecue Sauce (I used Famous Dave’s BBQ sauce)
1 tbs (heapful) Mayonnaise
1 tsp Garlic Paste
½ tsp Cayenne Pepper (or to taste)
½ tsp Black Pepper (or to taste – I like mine spicy).
Salt to taste.
1 tbs of Oil
1 Packet of Near East Rice Pilaf mix (Garlic and Herb)

20130827-163231.jpg

Method:
In a bowl mix all the ingredients (except the Shrimp and the Rice Pilaf) well.
Use a blender and blend the ingredients to a fine paste.
Add the Shrimp and let it marinade for at least 20 minutes.
In a non-stick pan add the oil, once hot add the marinated Shrimp and fry for 30 minutes. (Or as per your desired consistency. I wanted my spice mix to be a bit crunchy).
In a separate pot, cook the Rice Pilaf as directed on the package.
Top your Rice Pilaf with the Shrimp and Enjoy.

Warning – this dish can be a little spicy and amazingly good for your taste buds.

Happy Cooking ☺

20130827-163244.jpg

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Spicy Cilantro Barbecue flavored Shrimp with Rice Pilaf

  1. cc says:

    sounds fab… will try out this weekend… 🙂

  2. Gazala says:

    I have a packet of shrimp I didn’t know what to do with. I’ll give this a try! Glad to hear you have your kitchen back 🙂

Leave a Reply

