Spicy Omelet Paratha

So I wasn’t in the mood to cook today but I was as usual very hungry. Hence this was a yummy lunch with very little effort.

Ingredients:
1 frozen paratha (I used a frozen stuffed peas paratha you can even use a plain paratha or make your own. Remember I was in a hurry to eat :-p)
2 eggs – beaten
1/2 an onion – diced
1/2 handful spinach – (optional) – chopped
1/2 a handful lettuce mix
1/2 a handful shredded mozzarella
1 or 1/2 green chili (as per taste) – diced
Salt, Pepper and Cayenne pepper (as per taste)
1 tbs oil

Method:
In a frying pan add 1 tbs of oil and the frozen paratha.
In a separate bowl add the eggs, green chili, chopped onion, salt, pepper, cayenne pepper and whisk well.
Cook the paratha half way on both sides.
On one side pour the whisked egg on the paratha and lower the flame to medium/low heat so the paratha doesn’t burn.
Let the edges of the egg cook well enough where it can be lifted without a problem.
The top of the paratha will be a bit runny.
Quickly flip the paratha (some of the egg will be left behind on the pan while flipping but that’s completely okay as it will set with the runny side once flipped).
Cook for a minute and re-flip.
Now add your mozzarella cheese, spinach and lettuce.
Fold and cook for a minute.
If you can; flip it one last time (do not attempt this if it’s hard for you to do).
Serve with spicy chutney.

Eat a hearty lunch with ease 🙂

P.S if anyone needs more pictures let me know I will remake it and add it on.

20131019-164241.jpg

Tagged , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Spicy Omelet Paratha

  1. How innovative! Here in Maharashtra, people often eat masala omelette as an accompaniment with “poli” (chapati).

  2. Falak says:

    oo… that’s yum too!

    I honestly love egg in any form… well except uncooked. (Half-boiled I can still do) lol… when I was younger people would tempt me by saying they would cook me an egg. Most kids got tempted with chocolates I got eggs haha.

  3. gulfsponge says:

    oh wow thats the same with me too. Eggs were my weakness and still is: benedict / poached / fried / sunny side / scrambled…anything! My latest craze is having a sunny side up with my rice. This is a great idea as you said for a super quick prep. Thanks for sharing.

  4. mabidavid says:

    Excited to try this!

  5. […] Spicy Omelet served on a Paratha (desipalate.wordpress.com) […]

  6. Looks so good, thanks for sharing this.

    Simon

Leave a Reply

