Teaching and food… Lots and lots of food :)

So I moved to Chicago around 6-7 month ago and I got a sweet job teaching immigrants and refugee’s (Palestine, Iraq, Syria, Jordan, etc) U.S. History and Civics at Arab American Family Services*. I swear my students are the best cooks and they are the most loving bunch… if you’ve been wondering why I haven’t been blogging much it’s because of this! Its something new every week! I am stuffed and probably have gained over 10 pounds! Love it and love my students!!! p.s. I am in love with Maqluba, Mansaf, and Baklava (so many new dishes I am learning about Alhamdullilah) now to learn these recipes  and share them with y’all.

IMG_1604

This was the course and desert I received today… Homemade Pasta and homemade cookies. IMG_1605IMG_1606

*Arab American Family Services is a non-political, non-religious organization that focuses on building respect and understanding between Arab-Americans and the mainstream-American culture. For more information about AAFS please click here. If you’d like to make a donation to help them achieve their mission donate here. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

